2021 Pulitzer Prize Winners

From reporting on the coronavirus pandemic to China’s internment of Uyghurs, here’s the full list of winners and finalists.


Continue reading the main story

Supported by

Continue reading the main story


The New York Times

The Pulitzer committee honored The New York Times with the prestigious public service award for its “prescient and sweeping” coverage of the Covid-19 pandemic, particularly for filling “a data vacuum that helped local governments, health care providers, businesses and individuals to be better prepared and protected.” Read the coverage here.

Finalists ProPublica; The Courier-Journal of Louisville, Ky.


Staff of The Star Tribune of Minneapolis

The Star Tribune won the award for its “authoritative and nuanced” coverage of the murder of George Floyd.

Finalists Staff of The Courier-Journal, of Louisville, Ky.; Helen Branswell, Andrew Joseph and the late Sharon Begley of STAT, Boston


Matt Rocheleau, Vernal Coleman, Laura Crimaldi, Evan Allen and Brendan McCarthy of The Boston Globe

The Boston Globe won the investigative reporting award for its extensive coverage of dangerous truck drivers and the failure of state governments to keep them off the road.

Finalists Dake Kang and the staff of The Associated Press; Margie Mason and Robin McDowell of The Associated Press


Andrew Chung, Lawrence Hurley, Andrea Januta, Jaimi Dowdell and Jackie Botts of Reuters; Ed Yong of The Atlantic

The Pulitzer committee honored a team of Reuters reporters for their coverage of an arcane legal doctrine that “shields police who use excessive force from prosecution.” The science reporter Ed Yong won the award for his coverage of the pandemic.

Finalists Megha Rajagopalan, Alison Killing and Christo Buschek of BuzzFeed News


Kathleen McGrory and Neil Bedi of The Tampa Bay Times

Finalists Jack Dolan and Brittny Mejia of The Los Angeles Times; Staff of The Post and Courier of Charleston, S.C.


Staffs of The Marshall Project, AL.com of Birmingham, Ala., IndyStar of Indianapolis, and the Invisible Institute of Chicago

Finalists Staff of The New York Times; Staff of The Wall Street Journal


Megha Rajagopalan, Alison Killing and Christo Buschek of BuzzFeed News

Finalists BuzzFeed News and the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists; Staff of The New York Times; Staff of The Wall Street Journal


Nadja Drost of The California Sunday Magazine; Mitchell S. Jackson of Runner’s World

Finalists Greg Jaffe of The Washington Post


Michael Paul Williams of the Richmond Times Dispatch in Virginia

Finalists Roy S. Johnson of the Alabama Media Group; Melinda Henneberger of The Kansas City Star


Wesley Morris of The New York Times

Finalists Mark Swed of The Los Angeles Times; Craig Jenkins of New York Magazine


Robert Greene of The Los Angeles Times

Finalists Lee Hockstader of The Washington Post; Alan Wirzbicki and Rachelle G. Cohen of The Boston Globe


No winner

Finalists Ken Fisher, drawing as Ruben Bolling, for “Tom the Dancing Bug,” Andrews McMeel Syndicate; Lalo Alcaraz of Andrews McMeel Syndicate; Marty Two Bulls Sr.


Photography staff of The Associated Press

Finalists Hassan Ammar, Hussein Malla and Felipe Dana of The Associated Press; Joshua Irwandi, a freelance photographer for National Geographic


Emilio Morenatti of The Associated Press

Finalists Staff of Getty Images; Tyler Hicks of The New York Times


Lisa Hagen, Chris Haxel, Graham Smith and Robert Little of National Public Radio

Finalists Staff of National Public Radio; Staffs of the Invisible Institute of Chicago, The Intercept and Topic Studios


“The Night Watchman,” by Louise Erdrich

Finalists “A Registry of My Passage Upon the Earth,” by Daniel Mason; “Telephone,” by Percival Everett


“Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America,” by Marcia Chatelain

Finalists “The Deviant’s War: The Homosexual vs. the United States of America,” by Eric Cervini; “The Three-Cornered War: The Union, the Confederacy, and Native Peoples in the Fight for the West,” by Megan Kate Nelson


“The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X,” by the late Les Payne and Tamara Payne

Finalists “Red Comet: The Short Life and Blazing Art of Sylvia Plath,” by Heather Clark; “Stranger in the Shogun’s City: A Japanese Woman and Her World,” by Amy Stanley


“Postcolonial Love Poem,” by Natalie Diaz

Finalists “A Treatise on Stars,” by Mei-mei Berssenbrugge; “In the Lateness of the World,” by Carolyn Forche


“Wilmington’s Lie: The Murderous Coup of 1898 and the Rise of White Supremacy,” by David Zucchino

Finalists “Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning,” by Cathy Park Hong; “Yellow Bird: Oil, Murder, and a Woman’s Search for Justice in Indian Country,” by Sierra Crane Murdoch



Korey Jackson, seated, Nicco Annan, Toussaint Jeanlouis, Sheldon Best and Cecil Blutcher in the play “The Hot Wing King.”Credit…Sara Krulwich/The New York Times

“The Hot Wing King” by Katori Hall

Finalists “Circle Jerk” by Michael Breslin and Patrick Foley; “Stew” by Zora Howard


“Stride” by Tania Leon

Finalists “Place” by Ted Hearne; “Data Lords” by Maria Schneider

Leave a Reply